The Lagos State House of Assembly is the state legislature of Lagos State. It is one of the State Houses of Assembly established by Section 90 of the Constitution of Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended and endowed with powers to legislate as well as privileges and immunities to enable it exercise these powers without hindrance.

The Lagos State House of Assembly is situated right inside Lagos State Government secretariat at Alausa in Ikeja central business district. The House of Assembly is currently under the All Progressives Congress which is the current party ruling Lagos State. There have been seven different house of assemblies the very first one was inaugurated 2 October 1979 and the present one was inaugurated 6 June 2011. The House of Assembly is made up of forty Honorable Members elected to represent their constituencies for a period of four (4) years

The present speaker of the 9th Assembly is 'Rt. Hon. Mubashiru Obasa

The purpose of the House of Assembly is to "provide information on the scope of responsibilities, services and commitment for the entire people of Lagos State".

The vision of the The Lagos State House of Assembly is to be "the leading light and pathfinder for Nigerian legislatures", and the mission is "to make laws that will ensure good governance, representing the will of Lagosians and in the process ensuring judicious use of the resources of the state in order for Lagosians to receive maximum benefit"

In Lagos State, there are forty (40) constituencies which cut across the twenty (20) Local Governments and thirty-seven (37) Local Council Development Areas.

Qualification for Membership of Lagos State House of Assembly

An aspirant who wishes to become a member of Lagos State House of Assembly needs to be:

  1. A citizen of Nigeria;
  2. Attains the age of thirty years;
  3. Has been educated up to at least school certificate level or its equivalent;
  4. Is a member of a political party and is sponsored; and
  5. Devoid of any criminal record and has to win in an election for the House of Assembly.