The Lagos State House of Assembly has dissolved all its standing committees.
Announcing the dissolution of the committees shortly before the House adjourned plenary on Monday 16th October, the Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa stated that the Chairmen of the Committees would henceforth be working in acting capacity.

“May I announce to you all that all the standing committees of the House are hereby dissolved, while the Chairman of the Committees would be working in acting capacity.

“This will continue until new committee chairmen and members are constituted,” the Speaker said, adding that the committee chairmen must get permission from him before taking any major decision since they are still acting.

However, the Speaker did not give any reason for the dissolution.

It will be recalled that committees of the state assembly were dissolved and reconstituted during the fifth and sixth houses of assembly headed by former speaker Adeyemi Ikuforiji.

A source in the Assembly revealed that former speaker Adeyemi Ikuforiji dissolved the standing committees of the House after he became Speaker in December, 2005 after former speaker Jokotola Pelumi was impeached.

It was gathered that the committees were not reconstituted then until several months later.

Standing committees of the Houses of Assembly are usually in-charge of oversighting the various ministries in the state.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *