Make laws that will better the lot of Lagosians, Ambode charges 8th Assembly

Gov. Akinwunmi Ambode of Lagos State on Monday charged lawmakers in the 8th Assembly in the state to make laws that would better the lot of Lagosians. Ambode gave the charge at the proclamation/inauguration of the 8th assembly, at the Lagos State House of Assembly complex, Alausa. The governor said the proclamation was in accordance with Section 105 Subsection 3 of the 1999 Constitution. He charged the lawmakers to put the people at the centre of all their actions.

“As their servants, their opinions must always count; it is in this regard, I urge you to maintain close relationships with your constituencies. “This is the only way that their aspirations can be gauged and harmonised into laws and policies,” Ambode said.

The governor also urged the lawmakers to sustain the high standards that had been set by both the immediate past legislative and executive arms of government. Ambode called for the support of the lawmakers saying that on his part, he would ensure that all policies of government were legitimised in the hallowed chambers.
“I will work and collaborate with you and also respect your views and opinions, irrespective of the party you represent. “While we must recognise the principle of separation of powers, a cornerstone of the presidential system of government, it is significant to also recognise the imperatives of inter-dependence among the three arms of government.

“We shall have our moments of differing opinions and views, however, when such occur, they must always be resolved quickly and in the best interest of our people,” Ambode said.

The legislators elected a Speaker, Deputy Speaker and other principal officers of the house shortly after the inauguration. Mr Mudashiru Obasa (Agege 1) was elected Speaker while Mr Wasiu Eshinlokun-Sanni (Lagos Island 1) was elected deputy speaker. Obasa, in his acceptance speech, said the lawmakers would work hamoniously with the executive and Judicial arms of government to move the state forward.
According to him, the speaker and other members of the assembly are stewards of residents of Lagos and will not fail the electorate. Obasa said: “It gives me one of the greatest honour and privilege of my life to stand before you as the elected speaker of the 8th Lagos State Assembly being the pinnacle of every state parliamentarian. “Let’s keep Lagos working, this is the most important job of our employers – the people – if we fail from keeping Lagos working, then we would have failed on this job individually and collectively.

“We are stewards of the public trust and our employers have given us the mandate of keeping Lagos working “A mandate to steer Lagos in the direction of greater opportunities, prosperity and development, our people do not want to listen to excuses, they want to see Lagos where dreams are achieved. “I, on this occasion, want to call on His Exellency, Mr Akinwunmi Ambode to let us collaborate to move Lagos to the next level.”

He urged all members to work together irrespective of political divide. Obasa said that the House would be guided by the principle of separation of powers and would not encroach of both executive and judiciary functions. The speaker said that the 8th Assembly would pursue regular Town Hall meetings in various constituencies, regular executive and legislative summits, improve capacity and empowerment trainings and regular publication of House Committee Reports.

Obasa, a fourth term Assembly member and his Deputy Mr Wasiu Esinlokun (APC-Lagos Island 1) took Oath of Membership, Oath of Office and Oath of Allegiance being administered by Mr Ganiyu Abiru, the Clerk of the House. Abiru also coordinated the swearing of all other members of the assembly who took turn to swear to the Oath of membership and Allegiance.

Other principal officers who emerged on voice vote were Mr Sanai Agunbiade (APC-Ikorodu 1) as the Majority Leader and Mr Muyiwa Jimoh (APC-Apapa 2) as the Deputy Majority Leader. Mr Rotimi Abiru(APC-Shomolu 2) became the Chief Whip of the House while Mr Omotayo Oduntan (APC- Alimosho 2) emerged as the Deputy Whip.

The assembly, which has four female members, comprises 32 APC members and 8 PDP members. The 8th Assembly has 20 members of the 7th Assembly reelected. Eminent personalities, APC leaders and traditional rulers among others, were at the event.

Write a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *